Plant Pathology faculty to receive awards and recognition at 2013 APS national meeting

Posted: July 5, 2013

The American Phytopathological Society (APS) recently announced the 2013 APS award recipients to be recognized at the national meeting in Austin, Texas, which will be held August 10-14 . Two Penn State Faculty in Plant Pathology and Environmental Microbiology will be recognized this year: Dr. Seogchan Kang and Dr. Fred Gildow.

Dr. Seogchan Kang

Dr. Seogchan KangDr. Kang will be awarded The Ruth Allen Award honoring individuals who have made an outstanding research contribution that has changed, or has the potential to change, the direction of research in plant pathology.  Dr. Kang is being honored for his innovative efforts, done in collaboration with Dr. Yong-Hwan Lee at Seoul National University, to develop and deploy bioinformatic platforms for pathogen identification and characterization.  

Dr. Frederick Gildow

Dr. GildoFrederick E. Gildoww will be awarded the APS Fellow Award.  The Fellow Award is given to current APS members in recognition of distinguished contributions to plant pathology during their career.  APS Fellow recognition is based on significant contributions in original research, teaching, administration, and outreach.  Dr. Gildow, current Head of the Department of Plant Pathology and Environmental Microbiology, is known for his pioneering studies of cellular and molecular mechanisms regulating vector-specificity of plant virus transmission and his over 30 years of teaching introductory courses in plant pathology.

Congratulation to Drs. Gildow and Kang on their achievements!